Putting your social media away via Pocket

Pocket

Social media tends to be about data that is in there here and now. But what if you view a post or a link that you want to read, but you don’t have the time? Normally you’d have to remember that you saw the link, or even have to search for it. Of course, that is assuming you even remember that there was an article you wanted to view in the first place.
Pocket is the answer to this problem. With Pocket (http://getpocket.com) one can add a link to tweets articles, videos, and more! The big advantage is that I can view this list from any device I own: My Laptop, cell phone, and tablet can all either access the website or download the app. Sign up was easy. However, I did have some issues on my laptop installing the read widget to my internet explorer toolbar. Perhaps this was user error, but it was disappointing that this did not work.
The actual program seems to work fine. It walked me through how to connect Pocket with my existing Twitter account on my smart phone. After browsing my Twitter feed I used the user interface in to set aside some tweets to be read later. The process was painless and I was able to pull up the information within seconds on my laptop’s Pocket webpage.
Another interesting feature was the ability to e-mail data to myself. By e-mailing any link to add@getpocket.com from a registered e-mail address the data will be stored for me to view at a later point. The site actually supports getting e-mails from multiple e-mail addresses the process was very easy and I added an additional e-mail address. When I accidently sent an e-mail from an unconfirmed, I received a bounce back e-mail letting me know to add the address. Super easy!
Overall I think Pocket is a great tool to hold data you may want to review later. The user interface is easy, the product is available across multiple platforms, and the set up was painless. I think I’ll be using Pocket a bit to catch up on all my social media reading come June once I’ve graduated.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013 - Post 2

Leave a Reply

