Tweetlevel

When I was evaluating social media tools for review, I was looking for a tool that will help me identify who I should follow on Tweeter. That is, who are the influentials for my cause? If I could identify them, I could try to interact with them and leverage their influence to promote my own Twitter feed. To that end, I found TweetLevel.

TweetLevel, http://tweetlevel.com, is a website that provides analytics for Twitter. In particular, it helps Twitter users:

–          Measure how much people are talking about their brand

–          Analyze conversations about their brand

–          Helps in identifying what weblinks are shared the most

–          Gauge how influential their twitter account is, including influence, popularity , engagement, and trust

–          Finds the most influential tweeters

I found all these features well implemented and easy to use. Using this site enable me to gain a lot of insights into my cause and our Twitter account. Of the above features I was drawn especially to a word map that Tweetlevel generates automatically based on topics or hashtags. This allowed me to identify what people are saying around my cause. A few examples of queries I ran:

#plasticfreeseattle

Image

#bottledwater

Image

#plasticfree

Image

For each of those hash topics, Tweetlevel displays basic analytics such as number of times the topic was mentioned in Tweeter over time and provides graphical illustrations, such as this graph:

Image

More actionable for my needs was that Tweetlevel displayed a list of Twitter accounts it thinks are the most influential for the topic. For #plasticfree:

Image

This functionality was exactly what I was looking for – a way to identify the influentials as a first step towards engaging them and driving traffic to my own site.

Tweetlevel also provides more detailed information on a per Tweeter account basis. Running a query on #plasticfreeseattle, I was given a score:

Image

Along with this score, I was given detailed information on what the different levels mean. Tweetlevel has these levels:  Idea Starter, Amplifier, Curators, Commentators, and Viewers.

Its definition of Commentators, below, was I feel, quite accurate for our account, given the status of our Twitter efforts:

Commentators – these people individually have little influence. Their behavior often resembles little more than adding a comment without contributing greatly to the conversation. Their influence should not be ignored but should instead be viewed as a collective to measure the trend of opinion around a subject. An interesting factor is that this group are often self-moderating – when negative comments are posted often these contributors will often intervene to correct inaccuracies or a unfounded negative views.

Besides analytics, Tweetlevel also devotes a page to “Influence tips.” Some of the tips were basic, such as using URL shorteners. Others were a bit more insightful, such as advice to treat Tweeter as a conversation and to be interaction.  One tip was interesting in noting you should create value when you Tweet. The example they gave was, “Just saw Watchmen” could be extended to “Saw Watchmen movie. Graphics brilliant! Great action scenes, you should see it!”. I feel this tip in particular is quite useful for my team’s own @pf_seattle account (as well as to a lot of other accounts I’ve seen) and will be helpful in making us more influential.

Lastly, it also gives a handy summary of our engagement level:

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013 - Post 2

Leave a Reply

