Absolutely Pin-tabulous

pinterestI just don’t “get” Pinterest.  I know there are a lot of people that LOVE “pinning” photos of products, memes, recipes, baby pics, blah, blah, blah, but I haven’t figured why. It seems any of these objectives could be achieved by a quick Google search and you’d probably get better information. Regardless, I started to use Pinterest for my work because I was told it would become a great lead generator for traffic to our website. Well, I’m still unsure how that all works but I gave it another go with our Entre 528 and used GeekHealth to establish an account.  We launched six weeks ago and I needed to analyze the data to see what it means, how can I improve engagement and what do I need to do to get to the next level. So, I checked around for any tools to help with analyzing my acidity and surprisingly there are very few tools to begin with and none that I found were all that great.

Here are the few that I found and tried out with varied results:

repinlyRepinly & Pingraphy

These were only helpful in navigating what is popular at the moment (apparently Elephants and Babies are hot this week) and how to post pins to increase popularity. They weren’t that helpful in developing sound strategies around how to get more followers and to drive traffic to your brand or increase brand awareness. They both also allow you to “schedule” your pins in the same way that Hootsuite or Buffer allows you to schedule Twitter and Facebook posts.  Neither were that helpful as a business but I think good for a management tool if you are going to use Pinterest a lot as a consumer.

PinReach

Highly recommended from all the review sites, but seems to have gone out of business. The website is up and running works, but doesn’t allow you to register anymore. Boo! A big fail.

Pinpuff

This actually was the most helpful in terms of measurement and potentially providing some valuable information for businesses.  You can actually get a “Pinfluence” score simply by adding your Pinterest handle.  It scores you on reach, activity and virality of your boards and pins.

Check out GeekHealth’s profile and how we got a 23 out of 100 Pinfluence score.  Final thought––meh.  It isn’t that great and doesn’t provide much value beyond how to get a better score and perhaps more engagement.

geekhealth

Note: Pinterest actually just launched it’s own analytics service (but for businesses only) and sounds more promising than any of the tools currently available on the market.

4 Comments

Filed under 2013 - Post 3, Analytics

4 responses to “Absolutely Pin-tabulous

  1. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit
    this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date reports.

  2. certainly like your website however you have to take a look
    at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very
    troublesome to tell the reality on the other hand I will
    certainly come back again.

  3. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems
    different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. Hi my friend! Ӏ want to say that this post is amaƶіng, nicе written ɑnd include apρroximately all sgnificant infos.

    I would like to look mοre posts like tɦis .

Leave a Reply

