Klout?

I have to admit that before taking this class, I had never heard of Klout – like ever.  I was surprised and more than a little skeptical that a website would give me some kind of score based on how “influential” I am.  Influential to whom?  How did this work?  (as it turns out, there actually is an algorithm behind your Klout score).  Klout basically asks for your permission to access social networking sites that you are active on, and uses this to calculate a score based on the number of followers you have, as well as their reaction to your contributions – as the site says, they take into account “over 400″ variables based on your network.

Capture

So I decided to kick the tires and signed up for a Klout account.  I ended up connecting my Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn profile to get started.

Here’s how I stacked up:

MyKlout

As it turns out I am way more active on Facebook.  Well, relatively.  I only post something maybe once a week at most.  (Hey – don’t judge.  The TMMBA program workload curbs my inner social networking butterfly).

Pretty pleased that my Klout score also happened to answer the ultimate question of the universe, I decided to see who had a “good” Klout score.  As it turns out, I had a lot of work to do if I wanted to catch up with the likes of the President, Britney Spears, or the Bieb:

KloutInfluencers

Want to know when you posted something awesome and influential?  Klout tells you based on the number of folks that interacted with your posts.  Here’s my top post for April (I think I got 4 likes).

InfluentialMomentPast90days

So how would one use their Klout score?  Mind boggling enough – it’s become the new hotness in with tech savvy companies.  According to this wired article, a job applicant was actually passed over because he had too low of a Klout score.  Yes friends, now you have one more thing to worry about when applying for jobs.  Klout’s aspiration is that your Klout score will allow the “little guy” to have influence, instead of only celebrities with a billion Twitter followers.  Given that the top Klout scores still belong to celebrities, it may take some time before ordinary MBA students hit the big Klout big time.

Overall, I found the tool interesting, easy to use, but I am still experimenting with this.  Guess when I graduate I should tweet more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Analytics, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

